The Furrow Collective is an award-winning and critically acclaimed English/Scottish band consisting of four distinctive and talented performers: Lucy Farrell (viola, voice & saw, also Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band), Rachel Newton (harp, fiddle, voice, also Scots Trad Music Awards Instrumentalist of the Year 2016), Emily Portman (banjo, concertina, voice and Best Singer nominee at BBC Folk Awards 2016) and Alasdair Roberts (guitars, voice). 

The group formed in 2013, drawn together by a shared love of traditional song and balladry of the England, Scotland and beyond and an open, intuitive approach to collaboration. In recognition of their innovative approach, The Furrow Collective were awarded the accolade of 'Best Band' at the 2017 BBC Radio Two Folk Awards, hot on the heels of the release in late 2016 of their second album, Wild Hog (Hudson Records).

Songs full of death and magic.’ The Guardian****
‘a winningly produced masterclass in folk tradition.’ The Observer ****
 ‘A group of singers and musicians at the peak of their powers’
fRoots***** Album Choice Playlist