Plastiglomerates by Aimee Labourne 

Mareel feature space - beside the cinema screens. 

'Plastiglomerate’ is a proposed new kind of ‘human-made’ rock, consisting of a mix of melted plastic debris and natural sediment. Samples have been found on shorelines across the world. They are one part of a terrifying plastic pollution problem, which extends far beyond just visible material - as plastiglomerates are churned around in the water, smaller and smaller shards break off and form a ‘smog’ of microplastic particles in the ocean.

 Invented at the start of the 20th century, plastic was initially seen as utopian - endlessly malleable, convenient, hygienic – and so suitable for Modernity’s new vision. Increased post-war consumerism and exploitation of nature now means however that the detritus of urban-utopia is clogging our most remote and wild-seeming coasts. Despite the vastness of the ocean, its watery depths cannot absorb this dystopian material.

 Through drawing, I wish to isolate these uncannily organic samples from their usual shoreline context where they blend in all too easily. Studying these plastic forms almost as though they are geological specimens allows me to trace their strange lines and shapes in detail, lines which reveal how natural processes now confusingly mix with human actions in a world which is becoming more and more materially chaotic.

 

Sessions

Thursday 21 November More Info
Friday 22 November More Info
Saturday 23 November More Info
Sunday 24 November More Info
Monday 25 November More Info
Tuesday 26 November More Info
Wednesday 27 November More Info
Thursday 28 November More Info
Friday 29 November More Info
Saturday 30 November More Info
Sunday 1 December More Info
Monday 2 December More Info
Tuesday 3 December More Info
Wednesday 4 December More Info
Thursday 5 December More Info
Friday 6 December More Info
Saturday 7 December More Info
Sunday 8 December More Info
Monday 9 December More Info
Tuesday 10 December More Info
Wednesday 11 December More Info
Thursday 12 December More Info
Friday 13 December More Info
Saturday 14 December More Info
Sunday 15 December More Info
Monday 16 December More Info
Tuesday 17 December More Info
Wednesday 18 December More Info
Thursday 19 December More Info
Friday 20 December More Info
Saturday 21 December More Info
Sunday 22 December More Info
Monday 23 December More Info
Tuesday 24 December More Info
Wednesday 25 December More Info
Thursday 26 December More Info
Friday 27 December More Info
Saturday 28 December More Info
Sunday 29 December More Info
Monday 30 December More Info
Tuesday 31 December More Info
Wednesday 1 January More Info
Thursday 2 January More Info
Friday 3 January More Info
Saturday 4 January More Info
Sunday 5 January More Info
Monday 6 January More Info
Tuesday 7 January More Info
Wednesday 8 January More Info
Thursday 9 January More Info
Friday 10 January More Info
Saturday 11 January More Info
Sunday 12 January More Info
Monday 13 January More Info
Tuesday 14 January More Info
Wednesday 15 January More Info
Thursday 16 January More Info
Friday 17 January More Info
Saturday 18 January More Info
Sunday 19 January More Info
Monday 20 January More Info
Tuesday 21 January More Info
Wednesday 22 January More Info
Thursday 23 January More Info
Friday 24 January More Info
Saturday 25 January More Info
Sunday 26 January More Info
Monday 27 January More Info
Tuesday 28 January More Info
Wednesday 29 January More Info
Thursday 30 January More Info
Friday 31 January More Info