Show:
10 Sep-31 Oct 2021

Five makers reflect on the precious time spent immersed in designing and producing during a challenging year, and how they have transformed sometimes overlooked raw materials into new and joyful artworks. The group of makers are the selected winners from the Shetland Open 2019.

Deborah Briggs works in textiles, and for this show has created woven pieces inspired by the vivid colours of wildflowers against the greys and browns of Shetland cliffs, combined with the brilliant blue sea and bright sky. Eve Eunson is a designer maker inspired by the vernacular furniture of Fair Isle. Eve has created chairs from wood that arrived in Shetland as dunnage – material used to keep cargo in place during transportation.

Contemporary textile artist Marcia Galvin has knitted bright and playful garments incorporating unusual textures and bold colours. Creating lightsome characters and scenes from bruk found on beaches and elsewhere Lynn Ritch Bullough takes her inspiration from nature. Jeweller Esmé Wilcock is also inspired by the natural world, she is well known for her delicate creations, often featuring sea glass or cast sea shells.

Please continue to wear a face covering when moving around the space, and be respectful of other people's space.

The Shetland Open is supported by Ninian Shetland, Shetland Charitable Trust, The Shetland Gallery, A9 Partnership, Creative Scotland, John Goudie and Shetland Arts and Crafts Association.

Sessions

Wednesday 29 September 2021 More Info
Thursday 30 September 2021 More Info
Friday 1 October 2021 More Info
Saturday 2 October 2021 More Info
Sunday 3 October 2021 More Info
Wednesday 6 October 2021 More Info
Thursday 7 October 2021 More Info
Friday 8 October 2021 More Info
Saturday 9 October 2021 More Info
Sunday 10 October 2021 More Info
Wednesday 13 October 2021 More Info
Thursday 14 October 2021 More Info
Friday 15 October 2021 More Info
Saturday 16 October 2021 More Info
Sunday 17 October 2021 More Info
Wednesday 20 October 2021 More Info
Thursday 21 October 2021 More Info
Friday 22 October 2021 More Info
Saturday 23 October 2021 More Info
Sunday 24 October 2021 More Info
Wednesday 27 October 2021 More Info
Thursday 28 October 2021 More Info
Friday 29 October 2021 More Info
Saturday 30 October 2021 More Info
Sunday 31 October 2021 More Info